Rueff Report – The Return

It’s been interesting lately. I have found myself wanting to write more than I have in the last four years. I go through stretches where I can write like I didn’t have the severe case of “writer’s block.” The next moment I am right back at the crux having no idea what I will write. Whether it was for fun or professionally this has been the most frustrating period since I started writing whether it was for fun or professionally.

On more than one occurrence friends have asked me, “when are you going to get back to writing?” I know most of them don’t mean this blog. They mean writing for a newspaper, magazine or website where I get paid for it.

My friends’ questioning about me writing again has reignited my passion. I feel like that pitcher who has been pitching a great game and suddenly begins to unravel at the moment. After throwing three straight pitches for balls, I needed to refocus and throw that much-needed strike.

In my current “job” I have a lot of time to think. Actually what really happens is I daydream. I remember the past. I think about the present. I ponder the future. For the past couple of weeks, I have thought about writing and my passion for it. I have had several subjects I could and should have written about. The good thing about those subjects they are relevant enough I can get to them in due time.

It’s now officially “Selection Sunday.” The NCAA Tournament pairings will be announced in about 17 hours. I figure now is as good a time as any to fire the “Rueff Report” back up. Now I am not promising it will be as Mike Greenberg says on his radio show, “back and better than ever.” Does Greeny still say that as Golic and him come out of every commercial break? I wouldn’t know. I have listened to sports-talk radio except for play-by-play of a sporting event in two years.

I just want to write. I want to have fun with it. At the same time, though I want people to visit this blog and maybe come away with something they wouldn’t have reading about the same topic somewhere else. Write about sports – sure it was what began my passion for writing. I also want to write about my other interests too. I have four sons maybe I’ll throw in some of the adventures I have with them.

I am going to tinker with the format of the blog at times. I like the WordPress “Newsworthy” template, but I think there are some tweaks to other aspects of it I can do to make it stand out. I have asked some friends for their input. Feel free to leave a comment and let me know if you have any suggestions.

I’m excited about getting back into writing on a regular basis. I have been away from my “mind palace” for too long. It’s time that changes.

Leave a Reply

