Working to be Consistent

Well still don’t have the laptop situation quite figured out but I have been able to snag some “laptop time” on my son, Andrew’s, computer.

I am still trying to figure out what I want to write about long term. As in I can’t decide what to put together for the November edition of NaNoWriMo. I like the idea there is a “camp” in July for writers of NaNoWriMo. I have already been working on a short story for the camp. It’s mainly about how I got into writing specifically sports journalism and the summer which really turned things around for me between my junior and senior years in high school.

I believe I have finally come through the worst case of writer’s block anyone has ever experienced. It was a tough three year drought but I believe I am ready to get back into it. It will start by writing on this blog more consistently. My goal is to hopefully have a solid idea ready to roll in November.

I also plan to get back into writing about my thoughts on my favorite sports teams and also other topics going around in the sports world. I have a new fondness for hockey. The Stanley Cup Playoffs have been fun and exciting to watch. I have to admit they were a lot more fun than the NBA playoffs have been this spring – even with the Pacers getting to the Eastern Conference Finals.

The Pacers – not really sure what all the answers to the questions will be for the future of that team. I know Frank Vogel and Larry Bird had a season-ending-press conference today but have not seen the transcripts or other articles fully to see what the direction might be for the future.

The Cincinnati Reds won three of four against the Diamondbacks – hopefully things are getting turned in the right direction. Time is running out for them if they are going to make any run at the Milwaukee Brewers. Per usual losing two of three to the Cardinals didn’t help matters any nor doing the same thing to the dastardly Dodgers.

The Broncos – hoping they can make amends for the debacle which was known as the Super Bowl loss. It’s a tough schedule for Denver this season and hopefully one where they can be tested and make another playoff run. Yes, Sept. 7 is marked in my calendar. The Broncos have not beat the Colts in nine years and that’s a drought of mammoth proportions especially for this lifelong fan living in Indianapolis.

Then there’s Northwestern, which suffered a six-game-losing-streak hangover after falling to Ohio State last season. As with most football teams at times injuries to key players in the game against the Buckeyes as well as the rest of the season hampered the Wildcats. Aug. 30 the season begins against Cal and then the Big 10,000 schedule will commence a few years later with a game at Penn State. An interesting out of conference game comes Nov. 15 as Northwestern returns to where its miracle run of 1995 began at Notre Dame.

And there can’t be enough said about Mark Selby – 2014 WORLD SNOOKER CHAMPION! The way he battled back from 8-3 and 10-5 down to comeback and beat Ronnie O’Sullivan was pure grit. It will be entertaining to watch him defend the title and his No. 1 world ranking during this season.

Sherlock – rumors flying there will be a Christmas special. I’m alright with the two years between series as long as they are as well put together as the previous two.

 

Leave a Reply

